G wrote:I reckon that with a time recorded in the card, it would be fair to interrogate the SI unit.
Exactly my thoughts G - if you have received the light/bleep confirmation from the SI unit then, according to the rules, you have punched correctly.
It seems more than unduly harsh to dq someone for what seems to be an occasional bug in the technology, especially when it seems that there will be evidence in the unit to confirm that Oli was at the correct control. That's at least 2 people affected by this in major competitions now - so you'd hope the guys at SI would do something to work out why it's happening and to rectify it.
Otherwise you'd have to say the validity of using SI at major events is questionable if it is unreliable in nature and can lead to "blunders" like this.